Here we go again!

So, a little over 2 1/2 years since my last post and like most people I imagine, over a year since any form of normality I’m hoping to get back into the saddle again for Help for Heroes!

On Friday September 10th I’ll be cycling 83 miles (that’s what it says on the signup form – YMMV!) from Wisbech to Colchester as part of the Hero JOGLE Relay.

hero-jogle-relay-day-14-01 hero-jogle-relay-map-14-01

Organised by a bunch of Veterans and Help for Heroes Supporters, The Hero JOGLE Relay has been created because the Big Battlefield Bike Rides planned for 2020 and 2021 had to be cancelled due to COVID-19.  As those of you that follow my blog know, the BBBR is Help for Heroes ‘Blue Riband’ event each year which continues to generate huge amounts of awareness and income for the charity.  That source of income may have been substantially reduced over the last 18 months but Help for Heroes needs to continue funding its valuable work with our wounded Armed Forces Veterans and their families.

JOGLE (or John O’Groats to Lands End to name it in full) is a popular challenge but the route usually travels right down the centre of the country, totalling just over 1000 miles and takes most participants in the region of 10-14 days.

The Hero JOGLE Relay aims to do things differently!

As the name implies, the journey will be split into 20 different legs and supporters have been encourage to sign up for 1 or more days.  Due to the circuitous route they’ve opted for (taking in a number of important destinations on route) covers approximately 1,236 miles.

I’ve chosen to start in Wisbech as it’s not too far away from me in Cambridgeshire and cover more miles on my bike in a single day than I have for the last 2 years so it will definitely be a challenge and one that I need to get in training for.  That said, I’m looking forward to it enormously and can’t wait to join the team.

This post is a bit of a heads up… I will be following up as soon as I can with some details of how you can support our sponsorship efforts (you didn’t think I was doing this for fun did you?!)  I’ll also try to provide a little more info about the route I will be taking and keep you up to date with other news.

Thank you in advance for your support!

Nigel

This entry was posted in 2021, Colchester, Help for Heroes, Hero JOGLE Relay, heroJOGLErelay, Wisbech. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.